10-11 December 2019
Europe/Berlin timezone

Phase transition kinetics in a doubly thermo-responsive block copolymer thin film

10 Dec 2019, 16:05
Marriott Conference room - Munich (Marriott)

Marriott Conference room - Munich


Berliner Str. 93 80805 München Germany
Show room on map
Talk Soft Matter Soft Matter


Lucas Kreuzer (TU München, Physik Department, E13)


Thermo-responsive polymers respond to small changes in temperature with a drastic change in their conformation, which makes them promising candidates for manifold application fields. While the underlying mechanisms of such polymers in solution are well understood, less is known about thermo-responsive polymers in thin film morphology. In our recent work, we follow the phase transition kinetics upon increasing temperature in-situ in a doubly thermo-responsive block copolymer thin film. The block copolymer consists of a poly(N-isopropylmethacrylamide) (PNIPMAM) block, which shows a lower critical solution temperature (LCST) and a zwitterionic poly(sulfobetaine) (PSPP) block, which exhibits an upper critical solution temperature (UCST) that is lower than the corresponding LCST of the PNIPMAM block. At temperatures below the UCST, the polymer film is swollen in D2O atmosphere in order to increase the mobility of the polymer chains. Subsequent, temperature is increased to an intermediate regime (between UCST and LCST) and high regime (above LCST). The kinetic processes (swelling and temperature jumps) are followed with via time-of-flight neutron reflectometry (TOF-NR) with high time resolution. Static TOF-NR measurements and TOF grazing incidence small angle neutron scattering (GISANS) measurements are performed at the beginning and in between the kinetic processes to gain a complete picture of the swelling and temperature-dependent behavior of the polymer thin film.

Primary author

Lucas Kreuzer (TU München, Physik Department, E13)


Tobias Widmann (TU München, Physik Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien) Lorenz Bießmann (TU München, Physik-Department E13) Raphael Märkl (TUM Physics E13) Jean-Francois Moulin (HZG) Dr Viet Hildebrand (Institut für Chemie, Universität Potsdam) Prof. André Laschewsky (Institut für Chemie, Universität Potsdam, and Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Polymerforschung, Potsdam-Golm, ) Christine Papadakis (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Fachgebiet Physik weicher Materie) Peter Müller-Buschbaum (TU München, Physik-Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.