Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

May 22 – 25, 2023
Europe/Berlin timezone

Dynamics and structure in sustainable and functional biopolymer-based composite films

May 23, 2023, 5:20 PM
1h 10m
Schloss Fürstenried (Munich)

Schloss Fürstenried


Forst-Kasten-Allee 103 81475 München Germany
Poster Biomaterials for sustainability Poster session


Dr Lucas Kreuzer (MLZ (FRM II, TUM))


Hydrogel films made from responsive polymers are able to switch between a swollen (extended polymer chains) and a contracted film state (coiled polymer chains) in response to slight changes in their surroundings. In recent studies, we demonstrated the versatility of a multi-responsive diblock copolymer, containing a zwitterionic poly(sulfobetaine) and a nonionic poly(N-isopropyl acrylamide) block, in thin-film geometry. With neutron scattering techniques such as time-of-flight neutron reflectometry and grazing-incidence small-angle neutron scattering (ToF-NR, ToF-GISANS), we identified discrete thin-film states, regarding their thickness, solvent content, and morphology, which can be precisely tuned upon changing external stimuli such as temperature, relative humidity, and the composition of the surrounding solvent vapor.

In future studies, we aim for using responsive biomaterials such as cellulose, as functional materials, due to their sustainability, biodegradability, high abundance, and low cost. Recent studies focused on the structural properties of cellulose nanofibrils during dynamic processes such as swelling and drying. For a fundamental understanding of their functionality, both the structure and the internal dynamics of the moieties are important. Therefore, these future studies will have a strong focus on the investigation of dynamical parameters using neutron techniques e.g., quasi-elastic neutron scattering (QENS) or neutron backscattering spectroscopy.

Primary authors

Prof. André Laschewsky (Universität Potsdam) Dr Calvin Brett (DESY) Christine Papadakis (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Fachgebiet Physik weicher Materie) Dr Lucas Kreuzer (MLZ (FRM II, TUM)) Peter Müller-Buschbaum (TU München, Physik-Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien) Stephan Roth (DESY / KTH)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.