Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Dec 8 – 10, 2020 Online only
Online event
Europe/Berlin timezone

Morphology investigation of printed active layers of hybrid solar cells with grazing incidence neutron and x-ray scattering techniques

Dec 9, 2020, 2:30 PM
3h 30m
Online event

Online event


Volker Körstgens (TU München)


One aspect for the development of non-conventional solar cells should be the sustainability of the production process of devices. Following this idea, we developed hybrid solar cells, which can be processed out of aqueous solution. The active layer of these devices is based on laser-processed titania nanoparticles dispersed in a water-soluble polythiophene. The active layers were produced with a home-built slot die coater. With this printing technique, the thickness of layers can be easily controlled and the scale-up toward the coating of large areas is done with low effort. We investigated the morphology of the deposited active layers with time of flight - grazing incidence small angle neutron scattering (TOF-GISANS) and x-ray scattering. With GISAXS and GIWAXS we were able to follow the evolution of the morphology for different donor/acceptor ratios in situ during the printing process. The expected impact of the observed morphologies and crystallinity on the performance of corresponding devices is discussed.

Primary authors

Volker Körstgens (TU München) Mr Lautaro Diaz Piola (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Lehrstuhl für Funktionelle Materialien) Wei Chen (Technische Universität München) Christina Geiger (Technical University of Munich, Chair of Functional Materials) Lucas Kreuzer (TU München, Physik Department, E13) Nian Li Manuel Scheel (TUM E13) Tobias Widmann (TU München, Physik Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien) Mrs Klara Stallhofer (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Lehrstuhl für Laser- u. Röntgenphysik) Gaetano Mangiapia (German Engineering Materials Science Centre (GEMS) am Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ)) Dr Hristo Iglev (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Lehrstuhl für Laser- u. Röntgenphysik) Matthias Schwartzkopf (DESY) Prof. Stephan V. Roth (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)) Prof. Reinhard Kienberger (Technische Universität München, Physik-Department, Lehrstuhl für Laser- u. Röntgenphysik) Peter Müller-Buschbaum (TU München, Physik-Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.