8-10 December 2020
Hilton Hotel Munich Park
Europe/Berlin timezone

German Neutron Scattering Conference 2020

December 09th-10th

The German Neutron Scattering Conference DN2020 will be a forum for users of neutron sources and will offer the possibility to get updated on modern neutron methods and to discuss new results and developments. Invited speakers are going to give their view on the role of neutron science today and in the future. In plenary and short talks, the latest results from research with neutrons will be reported. A special highlight will be the talk of the Wolfgang Prandl awardee. The best poster will be honoured by a poster prize.

Neutron science plays an important role in modern research. New developments, not only in instrumentation, but also in digitalization, enable new types of experiments in all fields of research from particle physics over materials science to life sciences and heritage science, just to name a few.

Invited Speakers

We are very pleased that the following speakers have accepted our invitation:

  • Markus Appel, Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble (France)
  • Thomas Hellweg, Universität Bielefeld (Germany)
  • Klaudia Hradil, Technische Universität Wien (Austria)
  • Nathalie Kunkel, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen (Germany)
  • Alexander A. Tsirlin, Universität Augsburg (Germany)
  • Martin Weik, Institut de Biologie Structurale (IBS), Grenoble (France)


Please be aware that we are discussing the "How to" at the moment. We like to meet everybody in person but several of our users will have difficulties to travel and we still don't know if there will be any restriction of the number of participants at the venue.

Thus, we are planning to offer a mix of live and online presentations and are developing a concept for this.

Due to possible changes on short notice, please have a close look at any reservation's cancellation policy (hotel, flights)! 


Committees and organisers

German Committee Research with Neutrons (KFN)

Prof. Christine M. Papadakis, Physics Department, TUM

Programme committee
German Committee Research with Neutrons (KFN)

Local Organising Committee
Dr. Ina Lommatzsch, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Prof. Christine M. Papadakis, Physics Department, TUM

The organisers gratefully acknowledge funding provided by Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ), Garching.