Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Dec 8 – 10, 2020 Online only
Online event
Europe/Berlin timezone

A GISANS study of bio-hybrid films: Influence of pH on spray-coated ß-lactoglobulin:TiO2 film morphology for bio-templated titania nanostructures

Dec 9, 2020, 2:30 PM
3h 30m
Online event

Online event


Julian Eliah Heger


Nanostructured metal oxides such as TiO2 play a major role in hybrid photovoltaics. They can serve as the inorganic charge acceptor of the active layer. For this, a designed structure is of high importance to address different challenges on different length scales. This includes mesoscopic pores for an eased backfilling of the organic donor material and a high interfacial area between donor and acceptor domains, having domain sizes of tens of nanometers for efficient charge carrier separation. A hierarchical morphology of high surface-to-volume ratio is hence beneficial for the device performance. Diblock copolymer directed sol-gel chemistry offers a way to fabricate templated TiO2 films on an industrially relevant scale, e.g. by spray-coating. However, involved organic solvents lead to a restricted potential in environmentally friendly processing. To overcome this issue, we investigate water-based sol-gel templating with the use of biopolymers. The bovine whey protein ß-lactoglobulin is known to form differently structured aggregates by denaturing at different pH values. In combination with a water-based TiO2 precursor, different bio-hybrid film morphologies are obtained by spray-coating. The influence of pH on the film morphology is investigated by bulk and surface-sensitive grazing incidence small-angle neutron scattering (GISANS). The obtained results are complemented by real-space imaging with scanning electron (SEM) and atomic force microscopy (AFM).

Primary author


Christina Geiger (Technical University of Munich, Chair of Functional Materials) Tobias Widmann (TU München, Physik Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien) Lucas Kreuzer (TU München, Physik Department, E13) Shanshan Yin Peter Müller-Buschbaum (TU München, Physik-Department, LS Funktionelle Materialien)

Presentation materials