Dec 8 – 9, 2022
Europe/Berlin timezone

New options on the polarized neutron single crystal diffractometer POLI at MLZ

Dec 9, 2022, 2:00 PM


Board: P-075
Poster Neutron Methods Poster Session


Dr Jianhui Xu (RWTH Aachen University; Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH)


Polarized neutron diffraction is a powerful tool for studying condensed matter physics and to probe the spin and orbital properties of unpaired electrons. POLI is a polarized neutron single crystal diffractometer built on the hot neutron source at MLZ. Currently three standard setups are implemented on POLI: 1) zero-field spherical neutron polarimetry using CRYOPAD; 2) polarized neutron diffraction in magnetic fields; 3) non-polarized diffraction under various conditions.
We recently implemented a new actively shielded asymmetric split-coil superconducting magnet with a maximal field of 8T. The magnet is designed to facilitate polarized neutron diffraction with low stray fields, a large opening (30̊ vertical) and a large sample space suitable for e.g., piezo goniometers and pressure cells. We also built a compact-size solid-state supermirror bender polarizer optimized for short neutron wavelengths to provide high neutron polarization in the vicinity of the magnet. An in-situ SEOP polarizer and analyzer will be available in 2023 which maintains high levels of neutron polarization and intensity over long periods of time. The SEOP polarizer are well shielded magnetically and can be used with the large magnet. Transferring the BIDIM26 area detector of size 26cm by 26cm from LLB to MLZ is in progress [3].

[1] V. Hutanu, J. Large-Scale Res. Facil. 1, A16 (2015).
[2] V. Hutanu et al., IEEE Trans. Magn. 58, no. 2, pp. 1-5, (2022).
[3] A. Gukasov et al., Physica B 397, 131 (2007).

Primary authors

Dr Alexander Weber (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH) Earl Babcock (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH) Henrik Thoma (RWTH Aachen University; Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH) Dr Jianhui Xu (RWTH Aachen University; Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH) Prof. Mirijam Zobel (RWTH Aachen University) Vladimir Hutanu (Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (FRM II)) Mr Wolfgang Luberstetter (RWTH Aachen University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.