Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Dec 8 – 10, 2020 Online only
Online event
Europe/Berlin timezone

Nano-Structure Development of Oral Pharmaceutical Formulations in Simulated Intestine – D-contrast SANS and DLS

Dec 8, 2020, 3:25 PM
Online event

Online event

Talk UM: Soft Matter MLZ Users 2020 - Soft Matter


Thomas Nawroth (Gutenberg-University, Pharmaceutical Technology, Staudingerweg 5)


Pharmaceutical drug formulations for oral delivery depict after patient intake a stepwise structure development of disintegration to micro-particles, dissolution of drug nano-complexes, interaction with bile and lipids and uptake by the intestinal membrane proteins (receptors). The processes are critical for therapy and applicability of drug and formulation, especially with hydrophobic or badly soluble drugs.
The processing of oral drug formulations was studied by neutron small angle scattering SANS with D-contrast variation, combined with DLS, with a simulator device of the human gastro-intestinal tract with SANS+DLS observation of drug nanoparticles and intermediates. A set of drugs, where oral delivery is a challenge, was investigated, e.g.: Fenofibrate, Amphotericin B, Danazol, Griseofulvin, Carbamazepine, Curcumin in combination with lipids and detergents. The biocompatibility was estimated with cell cultures. The drugs were embeded in nanoparticles and liposomes of 50-100 nm size and resolved stepwise in artificial intestinal fluid and bile. The resolution and formation of intermediated nanoparticles and excipient-drug complexes was analyzed with time resolved SANS and DLS. Substructures (domains) were localized by solvent deuterium contrast variation. The results are part of the development of novel formulations of difficult drugs upon structure investigation by SANS plus DLS in a feedback process.

Primary author

Thomas Nawroth (Gutenberg-University, Pharmaceutical Technology, Staudingerweg 5)


Dr Jozef Al-Gousous (University Mainz) Mr Lukas Uebbing (Universität Mainz) Dr Pooneh Khoshakhlagh (University Mainz) Mrs Lidija Krebs (University Mainz) Christian Siewert (Universität Mainz) Mr Michael Patrick Klak (Universität Mainz) Mr Valentin Stahl (University Mainz) Dr Raphael Johnson (Nkrumah University) Dr Ralf Schweins (Insittut Laue-Langevin) Aurel Radulescu (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Jülich Centre for Neutron Science at MLZ) Tobias Schrader Prof. Peter Langguth (University Mainz)

Presentation materials