Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

Magnetically frustrated dynamics on the Cairo pentagonal lattice

Mar 21, 2023, 4:00 PM
Yards 4 - 6 (Fakultät für Maschinenwesen)

Yards 4 - 6

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen

Board: TU-132
Poster Magnetism, Superconductivity, Topological Systems, Magnetic Thin Films an other electronic phenomena Poster session TUESDAY


Emma Ynill Lenander (University of Copenhagen)


The octahedrally and tetrahedrally coordinated Fe3+ (S=5/2) ions in Bi2Fe4O9 form a quasi two-dimensional Cairo pentagonal lattice (Pbam). Combined with predominantly antiferromagnetic interactions, this leads to a strong frustration with Tn=245 K while θCW=1670 K in a fairly unexplored geometry. The magnetic structure for T < Tn can be indexed with k=(½, ½, ½) with a noncollinear magnetic structure of Fe1 and Fe2 moments, 2 different sites, and an interpenetrating pattern of fourfold spin rotations, a very novel magnetic state.

Previous measurements studying the low-lying excitations, 0–30 meV, in the ordered phase were measured on small single crystals (< 0.6 g). Beauvois et al. (PRL2020) argues that no anisotropy is required while Duc Le et al. (PRL2021) indicates an easy-plane single-ion anisotropy. Accordingly, Beauvois find the acoustic AF mode is not gapped while it is for Duc Le.
We have synthesized a 2.35 g, high quality single crystal of Bi2Fe4O9 and are re-examining the magnetic excitations. Already at energy transfers below 10 meV we see distinct discrepancies between our data and previous data in the ordered phase using CAMEA and EIGER (PSI). Our data show a clear double spin gap, that allows us to differentiate axial and planar anisotropy scenarios. This will enable us to establish the microscopic model and perform quantitative analysis of the frustrated state above Tn.

Primary authors

Andrea Kirsch (University of Copenhagen) Emma Ynill Lenander (University of Copenhagen) Jakob Lass (Paul Scherrer Institut) Kim Lefmann (Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen) Prof. Manfred Burianek (Universität zu Köln) Prof. Pascale Deen (European Spallation Source) Dr Sofie Janas (Technical University Denmark)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.