Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

Dipolar spin ice regime proximate to an all-in-all-out ground state in the dipolar-octupolar pyrochlore Ce2Sn2O7

Mar 21, 2023, 4:00 PM
Yards 4 - 6 (Fakultät für Maschinenwesen)

Yards 4 - 6

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen

Board: TU-268
Poster Magnetism, Superconductivity, Topological Systems, Magnetic Thin Films an other electronic phenomena Poster session TUESDAY


Danielle Yahne (Paul Scherrer Institut)


We present neutron diffraction measurements on newly synthesized dipole-octupole pyrochlore Ce$_2$Sn$_2$O$_7$ powders grown by hydrothermal methods. We find a diffuse signal at low scattering vectors, reminiscent of a dipolar spin ice, in striking contrast to previous neutron diffraction on powder Ce$_2$Sn$_2$O$_7$ samples grown by solid-state synthesis, which found diffuse scattering at high scattering vectors associated with magnetic octupoles. While this raises the question about subtle crystalline structural differences between the samples, we detect no oxidation or other crystallographic disorder in the hydrothermally-grown powders through complementary neutron structure refinement and atomic PDF measurements. To understand the underlying interactions that result in the low-Q diffuse signal, we characterize the exchange interaction parameters in the near-neighbor XYZ model Hamiltonian by fitting quantum numerical linked cluster expansions to heat capacity and magnetic susceptibility measurements, as well as classical Monte-Carlo (MC) simulations of the powder averaged structure factor. This places Ce$_2$Sn$_2$O$_7$'s ground state within the ordered dipolar all-in-all-out (AIAO) Néel phase. Further, quantum MC calculations suggest that the transition to long-range order occurs at temperatures below those accessed experimentally. We conclude that new hydrothermally-grown Ce$_2$Sn$_2$O$_7$ samples host a finite-temperature proximate dipolar spin ice phase, above the expected transition to AIAO Néel order.

Primary author

Danielle Yahne (Paul Scherrer Institut)


Benedikt Placke (Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems) Robin Schaefer (Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems) Owen Benton (Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems) Roderich Moessner (Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems) Matthew Powell (Clemson University) Joseph Kolis (Clemson University) Chris Pasco (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Andrew May (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Matthias Frontzek (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Evan Smith (McMaster University) Bruce Gaulin (McMaster University) Stuart Calder (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Kate Ross (Colorado State University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.