Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

BIFROST - An extreme environment cold neutron spectrometer at the European Spallation Source

Mar 20, 2023, 3:00 PM
SCC/0-001 - Lecture hall (Galileo)

SCC/0-001 - Lecture hall


Show room on map
Talk (17 + 3 min) Neutron Instrumentation, Optics, Sample Environment, Detectors, and Software Spectroscopy


Rasmus Toft-Petersen (European Spallation Source)


Inelastic neutron scattering is instrumental in making key discoveries in a broad range of materials, such as superconductors, multiferroic materials and quantum magnets. However, the applicability of the technique is limited by inherently weak signals, leaving parametric studies as a function of sample environment parameters relatively inaccessible.

BIFROST, currently under construction at the European Spallation Source (ESS), aims to drastically shift those limits of feasibility by combining a multiplexing crystal analyzer backend with an indirect geometry time-of-flight front end. Due to the peak brilliance and long pulse of the ESS source, the primary spectrometer enables an unprecedented polychromatic sample flux exceeding 10^10 n/s/cm2 at 5 MW accelerator power, with a primary spectrometer resolution ΔEi/Ei of 4 %, common in cold neutron spectroscopy. The multiplexing backend consists of 9 Q-channels with continuous angular sensitivity, each containing 5 fixed analyzers probing neutron energies below 5.0 meV. The analyser backend utilize position sensitive detectors to significantly improve energy resolution as compared to a normal triple-axis backend. By shaping the source pulse, an energy resolution well below 0.1 meV is obtainable even far from the elastic line while retaining a respectable flux on the sample.

Instrument construction is making significant progress, with major components installed, and the instrument slated for completion by the end of 2023.

Primary author

Rasmus Toft-Petersen (European Spallation Source)


Bjørn Hauback (IFE) Christof Niedermayer (Laboratory for Neutron Scattering and Imaging, Paul Scherrer Institute) Prof. Henrik Rønnow (EPFL) Jakob Lass (Paul Scherrer Institut) Jonas Birk (Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen) Kim Lefmann (Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen) Kristine Krighaar (Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen) Marton Marko (Paul Scherrer Institute) Niels Bech Christensen (Technical University of Denmark) Peter Willendrup (DTU Physics) Dr Philippe Bourges (LLB)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.