Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

The High Brilliance Neutron Source (HBS) Project for a Next Generation Neutron Research Facility

Mar 22, 2023, 11:30 AM
SCC/3-Venus - Venus (Galileo)

SCC/3-Venus - Venus


Show room on map
Talk Micro-Symposium CANS Micro Symposium CANS 1


Thomas Brückel (Forschungszentrum Jülich)


With very few large-scale facilities left to serve a leading community of about 5000 European neutron users in the 2030s, the European neutron ecosystem will become extremely vulnerable and capacity-limited. Neutron research in Europe risks losing its strength and diversity if limited access to neutron beam time makes it extremely difficult to maintain a sustainable research program based on the use of neutrons.
High Current Accelerator driven Neutron Sources (HiCANS) are a completely new type of neutron research facility based on an innovative concept. They have the potential to rejuvenate the European neutron ecosystem and provide complementary capabilities. The High Brilliance Neutron Source (HBS) project is a highly ambitious HiCANS project characterized by cost efficiency, sustainability, reliability, resilience, easy access and flexibility.
We present the concept of the HBS, discuss the physical and technical solutions for challenging components such as the high-power target, report on simulations and experimental verifications, and prototyping for all major components of the facility. The HBS features a complete set of instruments for diffraction, large-scale structural research, inelastic scattering, and high-resolution spectroscopy, imaging, and neutron analytics with highly competitive instrument performance. The Technical Design Report (TDR) provides a blueprint for construction of the facility.
This work is part of the collaboration within ELENA and LENS on the development of HiCANS.

Primary author

Thomas Brückel (Forschungszentrum Jülich)


Thomas Gutberlet (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Ulrich Rücker (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Eric Mauerhofer (Foschungszentrum Jülich) Paul Zakalek (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Jörg Voigt (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Johannes Baggemann (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Jingjing Li (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Klaus Lieutenant (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Zhanwen Ma (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Qi Ding (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Alexander Schwab (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Sebastian Eisenhut (TU Dresden) Noberto Schmidt (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Romuald Hanslik (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Yannick Beßler (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Olaf Felden (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Andreas Lehrach (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Ralf Gebel (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Oliver Meusel (University Frankfurt) Holger J. Podlech (University Frankfurt) Winfried Barth (Helmholtz Institiu Mainz)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.

Peer reviewing