Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

Transport properties of H2 confined in carbide-derived carbons with different pore shapes and sizes

Mar 23, 2023, 12:10 PM
MW 0 001 - Lecture hall (Fakultät für Maschinenwesen)

MW 0 001 - Lecture hall

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen

Show room on map
Talk (17 + 3 min) Chemistry of Materials (Structure and Spectroscopy) Structure & Dynamics


Riinu Härmas (University of Tartu)


Carbide-derived carbons (CDC) are porous carbon materials with widely different properties like pore size distribution or graphitization [1]. In this study, quasi-elastic neutron scattering method was used to investigate the hydrogen diffusion in the well-defined pores of three distinct CDC materials [2]. Namely, the predominant shape of pores of the studied CDCs had been shown to be different as well as the respective pore size distributions [2]. Two of the studied materials were mostly microporous, while the third mostly mesoporous. Using a combined approach of gas adsorption methods and in-situ quasi-elastic neutron scattering, some interesting insights were gained on the relation of local adsorbent structure and the molecular behaviour of confined hydrogen. It was shown that sub-nanometer pores of spherical and cylindrical shape strongly limit the diffusion of H$_2$. However, a much weaker adsorption was seen in mainly mesoporous CDC, resulting in higher H$_2$ mobility in that adsorbent. This demonstrates, that tailoring the pore structure of carbon materials can have a large effect on their H$_2$ storage capability.
[1] Härmas, R.; Palm, R. et al. Carbon 2019, 155, 122–128, doi:10.1016/j.carbon.2019.08.041.
[2] Härmas, R.; Palm, R.; et al. C 2021, 7, 29, doi:10.3390/c7010029.
[3] Kurig, H.; Russina, et al. Carbon 2016, 100, 617–624, doi:10.1016/j.carbon.2016.01.061.

Primary authors

Riinu Härmas (University of Tartu) Dr Rasmus Palm (University of Tartu)


Dr Margarita Russina (Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin) Dr Heisi Kurig Dr Veronika Grzimek (Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin) Dr Eneli Härk (Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin) Ms Miriam Koppel (University of Tartu) Dr Indrek Tallo Dr Maarja Paalo (University of Tartu) Dr Ove Oll (University of Tartu) Dr Jan Embs (Paul Scherrer Institute) Prof. Enn Lust (University of Tartu)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.

Peer reviewing