Warning: We observe an increase of emails from fake travel portals like . "travelhosting.co.uk". We never send links to such portals so be vigilant!

Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

Propagation-based phase contrast neutron imaging in McStas

Mar 20, 2023, 4:00 PM
Yards 4 - 6 (Fakultät für Maschinenwesen)

Yards 4 - 6

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen

Board: MO-159
Poster Neutron Instrumentation, Optics, Sample Environment, Detectors, and Software Poster Session MONDAY


Estrid Naver (Technical University of Denmark)


Propagation-based phase contrast imaging is an established method in X-ray imaging. Recent results show that this approach with a Paganin type filter [1],[2] increases neutron image contrast significantly. We demonstrate that we can use this to distinguish materials with low neutron absorption. The neutron experiments were performed at BOA (SINQ@PSI [3]) using the neutron microscope [4]. These data were used to benchmark an implementation of wave propagation in McStas [5].
As proof-of-concept we applied the method to a sample of micrometre thin Al and Zr alternating layers, each of low neutron absorption. We showed that the individual layers can be distinguished using propagation-based phase contrast, despite the divergent and polychromatic beam.
In order to accurately simulate the formation of the phase contrast via sample interaction and wave propagation, a wave description of the neutron was implemented in McStas. This enabled us to simulate the phase difference of the wave gained when passing through the sample and the wave propagation between sample and detector and to replicate the experimental data.
[1] D. M. Paganin et al., arXiv, 1909.11186 (2019)
[2] M. Østergaard et al., arXiv, 2210.01403 (2022)
[3] M. Morgano et al., Nucl Instrum Methods Phys Res A 754, 46-56 (2014)
[4] P. Trtik et al., Physics Procedia 69, 169-176 (2015)
[5] P. K. Willendrup, and K. Lefmann, J Neutron Res 22, 1-16 (2020)

Primary authors

Anastasiia Karabanova (Technical University of Denmark) Domenico Battaglia (Technical University of Denmark) Estrid Naver (Technical University of Denmark) Henrik Birkedal (Aarhus University) Luise Theil Kuhn (Technical University of Denmark) Maja Østergaard (Aarhus University) Okan Yetik (Paul Scherrer Institute) Pavel Trtik (Paul Scherrer Institute) Peter Willendrup (DTU Physics) ‪Søren Schmidt (European Spallation Source)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.