Mar 20 – 23, 2023
Campus Garching
Europe/Berlin timezone

Monoclinic symmetry of the hcp phase of Cobalt

Mar 20, 2023, 4:00 PM
Yards 4 - 6 (Fakultät für Maschinenwesen)

Yards 4 - 6

Fakultät für Maschinenwesen

Board: MO-117
Poster Chemistry of Materials (Structure and Spectroscopy) Poster Session MONDAY


Paweł Kozłowski (Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw)


The hexagonal close packed phase of cobalt (hcp-Co) is associated with numerous stacking faults while the face centered cubic phase of cobalt (fcc-Co) has considerably less stacking faults, as shown e.g. in [1]. Two domains of hcp-Co stacked one above the other with a stacking fault in between are usually delimited by a small interface region of a few fcc-Co layers as shown e.g. in [2,3]. The crystal structures of hcp-Co and fcc-Co should be considered together because the crystallites of these two phases are often clustered together in the same grains of cobalt. The gradual ferromagnetic spin reorientation in hcp-Co between 230 $^\circ$C and 330 $^\circ$C reported in [3] suggests that this phase could not have a hexagonal symmetry. This hypothesis is verified positively by synchrotron radiation and neutron powder diffraction [4]. The crystal structure of the hcp phase of cobalt is described by the monoclinic symmetry with the magnetic space group C2'/m'. In this monoclinic crystal structure the former hexagonal [001] axis is no longer perpendicular to the hexagonal layers. The monoclinic structure is an approximate description of the multitude of stacking faulted hcp-Co domains coexisting with fcc-Co domains.

[1] O. S. Edwards and H. Lipson, Proc. R. Soc. Lond. Ser. A-Math. Phys. Sci. 180, 268 (1942).
[2] O. Blaschko, G. Krexner, J. Pleschiutschnig, G. Ernst, C. Hitzenberger, H. P. Karnthaler, and A. Korner, Phys. Rev. Lett. 60, 2800 (1988).
[3] E. Bertaut, A. Delapalme, and R. Pauthenet, Solid State Commun. 1, 81 (1963).
[4] P. Kozlowski, P. Fabrykiewicz, I. Sosnowska, F. Fauth, A. Senyshyn, E. Suard, D. Oleszak and R. Przenioslo - in preperation.

Primary author

Paweł Kozłowski (Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw)


Dr Piotr Fabrykiewicz (Institute of Crystallography, RWTH Aachen University, Germany and Jülich Centre for Neutron Science (JCNS) at Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ), Garching, Germany) Izabela Sosnowska (Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw) Francois Fauth (ALBA-CELLS) Anatoliy Senyshyn Emmanuelle Suard (Institut Laue Langevin) Dariusz Oleszak (Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering, Warsaw University of Technology) Radoslaw Przeniosło (Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.